Donating LSAT Preparation and Law School Admission Advising: Advise-In’s Annual Pro Bono Program

Beginning this Thursday, July 7, I’ll conduct—for the 14th consecutive year—a week-long LSAT preparation and law school admission and application workshop at the foot of the Wasatch Mountains in Utah. As in the past, I’ll be donating my services (students pay a little to cover travel and other expenses; there’s sometimes a little left over, which goes to non-profits).

A friend and I started the workshop, which involves about 30-35 hours of instruction, to help prospective law students who couldn’t afford commercial LSAT prep courses (or couldn’t afford them again, since many of our students have previously taken one or more). We also aren’t confident that those programs are really valuable. Before I took the LSAT, I cast around for private tutors and investigated nearly every LSAT preparation program available. I came away convinced that most would do me more harm than good, and that none could get me to my best LSAT score. I designed my own program and improved from a 162 initial practice test to a 180 on my actual LSAT (and yes, it was the only time I took the LSAT).

Obviously, a one-week workshop can’t replicate that result. The workshop is classroom-based and has some of the limitations of volume-based classroom teaching. And it’s just a week. That isn’t to say that it hasn’t been very, very successful. Students from the program have attended top U.S. law schools including Harvard, Stanford, Columbia, Virginia, NYU, Boalt and Duke, among others. A lot of the workshop’s success is, I think, due to the fact that, as a former college professor, I’m so conscious of what classroom teaching can and can’t accomplish that I work very hard to incorporate as much individualized attention as possible. And I focus on simplifying techniques so they’re useful on a stress-filled exam day.

When I started Advise-In Solutions, I decided to continue this workshop. One reason is that it’s fun. The students are a pleasure. The hosts at Weber State University are delightful and it’s always nice to be in gorgeous country (and out of hot and sticky New York City) this time of year.

The most important reason to continue doing the workshop is that it’s the right thing to do. Public service is important to me and Advise-In incorporates a pro bono component elsewhere in its programs as well.

As time permits, I’ll probably do a couple of blog posts based on questions that arise from this year’s students. There are always some interesting issues, and since they raise them publicly, I’m a little freer to talk about them on this blog.

~ by Kyle Pasewark at Advise-in Solutions on July 5, 2011.

One Response to “Donating LSAT Preparation and Law School Admission Advising: Advise-In’s Annual Pro Bono Program”

  1. […] Donating LSAT Preparation and Law School Admission Advising … […]

Leave a Reply

 
