Donating LSAT Preparation and Application Advising: More Travels with Advise-In

LSAT PreparationBeginning next Monday, July 26, I’ll conduct a week-long LSAT preparation and application advising workshop at the foot of the Wasatch Mountains in Utah.  This will be the 13th consecutive year I’ve done this.  As in the past, I’ll be donating my services (students pay a little to cover travel and other expenses; there’s sometimes a little left over, which goes to non-profits).

A friend and I started the workshop, which involves about 30-35 hours of instruction, to help prospective law students who couldn’t afford commercial LSAT prep courses (or couldn’t afford them again, since many of our students have previously taken one or more).  We also aren’t confident that those programs are really valuable.  Before I took the LSAT, I cast around for private tutors and investigated nearly every LSAT preparation program available.  I came away convinced that most would do me more harm than good, and that none could get me to my best LSAT score.  I designed my own program and improved from a 162 initial practice test to a 180 on my actual LSAT.

Obviously, a one-week workshop can’t replicate that result.  The workshop is classroom-based and has some of the limitations of volume-based classroom teaching.  And it’s just a week.  That isn’t to say that it hasn’t been very, very successful.  Students from the program have attended Harvard, Stanford, Columbia, Virginia, NYU, Boalt and Duke, among other top-tier law schools.  An alum of the workshop joined my former law firm, Debevoise & Plimpton in New York, this past fall.  A lot of the workshop’s success is, I think, due to the fact that, as a former college professor, I’m so conscious of what classroom teaching can and can’t accomplish that I work very hard to incorporate as much individualized attention as possible.  And I focus on simplifying techniques so they’re useful on a stress-filled exam day.

When I started Advise-In Solutions, I decided to continue this workshop.  One reason is that it’s fun.  The students are a pleasure.  The hosts at Weber State University are delightful and it’s always nice to be in gorgeous country (and out of hot and sticky New York City) this time of year.

The most important reason to continue doing the workshop is that it’s the right thing to do.  Public service is important to me and Advise-In incorporates a pro bono component elsewhere in its economics as well.

I’m also not comfortable making a profit by delivering anything less than the best possible product.  I tailor Advise-In’s programs for each of my clients, taking each client’s abilities, style of learning and life experience as the basis of everything I do.  It’s hard work and the way to the best law school prospects and career results for my clients.

So, stay tuned.  As with my private clients, students of the workshop always raise some interesting issues, and since they raise them publicly, I’m a little freer to talk about them on this blog.  You’ll see a few LSAT- and application-related posts next week.

~ by Kyle Pasewark at Advise-in Solutions on July 23, 2010.

4 Responses to “Donating LSAT Preparation and Application Advising: More Travels with Advise-In”

  1. […] No. Useful? Maybe. The Advise-In blog has been a little quiet this week.  I’m doing my annual pro bono LSAT preparation and advising workshop for about 30 students this year.  A full, fun week, during which there are sometimes a few […]

  2. […] Other Indignities: How You Can Conquer LSAT Stress” As part of Advise-In’s commitment to donating significant time and resources to pre-law and law students, on Tuesday, September 21, at 6 p.m. eastern time, I’ll lead […]

  3. […] the one-on-one instruction that my private Advise-In clients receive (it’s excerpted from my pro bono program), the video is a short and useful introduction to how to get your highest LSAT score (and how I […]

  4. Will you offer this program in 2013?

Leave a Reply

 
